Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
One to Watch
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-12-2011

LG NAS Remote Access

Hi Everyone,

 

I have a LG NAS which I want to use remotely when away from home (The nas does support this).

 

I have enabled the remote but when trying to submit I am geting an error saying it was not able to contact DDNS server...I have port forwarded, tried to setup DMA to no avail...

 

Same issue as here:

 

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/General-broadband-questions/remote-connection-to-NAS-DS211/td-p/... which is an old thread that someone posted...

 

Hopefully someone can help!

 

Thanks

Barbara

Superuser
Posts: 11,241
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Re: LG NAS Remote Access

what router/hub combo do you have?

 

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
One to Watch
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-12-2011

Re: LG NAS Remote Access

It is just the virgin media super hub and the lg nas N2R1DB2.

 

Using latest firmware :-)

Superuser
Posts: 11,241
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Re: LG NAS Remote Access

the virginmedia hub doesnt support DDNS you would need to attach your own router to the hub and use modem mode - How do I set up Modem Mode on my Super Hub?

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
One to Watch
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-12-2011

Re: LG NAS Remote Access

excellent - so not only does the super hub have a rubbish wireless signal (cannot get it other than in one room) it does not support remotely accessing a nas box from outside my home...

 

ok so I need to buy a new router, as advised by virgin for no fault of my own - are virgin going to credit me for thsi?!

 

Seems only right and a fair thing to do!

 

 

Superuser
Posts: 11,241
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Re: LG NAS Remote Access

if you can get online, virginmedia are filling their part.. since only other way to access your NAS is via your IP address eg 82.* or what ever it might be. since the odds of you getting a different ip address is rare.  just means you would need to remember your IP address. 

 

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
One to Watch
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎22-12-2011

Re: LG NAS Remote Access

yes but then they are selling something which is branded as a "super hub" which isn't really all that super is it...

plus when it is branded as flawed here:

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Up-to-50Mb-broadband/Superhub-wireless-firmware-fix/m-p/955781

Not really a good marketing point?!