Menu
Reply
On our wavelength
  • 279
  • 0
  • 6
Registered: ‎14-04-2011
Message 1 of 11 (709 Views)

How to Connect TiVo to home network.

How do I connect Tivo to my network by using a smart TV wireless adapter? I have a Virgin Media Netgear USB adapter and a Samsung Smart TV adapter, but they don't seem to work.

http://www.virginmedia.com/apps/android/tvanywhere/homeconnectivity/

0 Kudos

All Replies
Superuser
  • 14.5K
  • 1.13K
  • 1.96K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 2 of 11 (693 Views)

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

[ Edited ]

You can't use a USB wireless adapter. You need either Homeplugs or something like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WR702N-Wireless-Extender-Set-top/dp/B006PYGWG6/ as the network connection if via the Ethernet socket only

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 279
  • 0
  • 6
Registered: ‎14-04-2011
Message 3 of 11 (685 Views)

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.


BenMcr wrote:

You can't use a USB wireless adapter. You need either Homeplugs or something like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WR702N-Wireless-Extender-Set-top/dp/B006PYGWG6/ as the network connection if via the Ethernet socket only


So why does it say you can use a Smart TV wireless adapter?

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 5.66K
  • 385
  • 794
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 4 of 11 (682 Views)

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 5.66K
  • 385
  • 794
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 5 of 11 (679 Views)

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

[ Edited ]

shawty1984 wrote:

BenMcr wrote:

You can't use a USB wireless adapter. You need either Homeplugs or something like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WR702N-Wireless-Extender-Set-top/dp/B006PYGWG6/ as the network connection if via the Ethernet socket only


So why does it say you can use a Smart TV wireless adapter?


...because a USB wireless adapter is not a Smart TV wireless adapter. The adapter in my other post is a Smart TV wireless adapter.

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 14.5K
  • 1.13K
  • 1.96K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 6 of 11 (677 Views)

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.


shawty1984 wrote:

So why does it say you can use a Smart TV wireless adapter?


The link it gives is to this one http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B005LDM53G which is not a USB adapter.

 

I'll feed back that the wording needs changing to make it clearer what it's suggesting you use

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Alessandro Volta
  • 13.31K
  • 588
  • 1.61K
Registered: ‎25-07-2011
Message 7 of 11 (659 Views)

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

Also what are you hoping to accomplish by connecting it to your home network?
*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 279
  • 0
  • 6
Registered: ‎14-04-2011
Message 8 of 11 (643 Views)

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

Yes it is. I've got one plugged into my smart TV.
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 279
  • 0
  • 6
Registered: ‎14-04-2011
Message 9 of 11 (641 Views)

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

To be able to use TV Anywhere as a remote. Why would you need to ask this?
0 Kudos
Alessandro Volta
  • 13.31K
  • 588
  • 1.61K
Registered: ‎25-07-2011
Message 10 of 11 (635 Views)

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

Some people have expectations that they can watch their recorded tivo shows on the app.

Just wanted to be sure
*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos