Menu
Reply
Joining in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎27-07-2012
Message 1 of 10 (5,304 Views)

Enable WEP?

Hi,

 

I want to enable wep encryption but it's greyed out in my login page. It is set to wpa at the moment. I have R36 version software.

 

How do I turn on wep? I know it's less secure but my PS3 is an older model and ever since I've been using wpa on the virgin superhub it's been disconnecting or not connecting randomly to wifi.

 

Thanks,

Andy

0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 257
  • 5
  • 27
Registered: ‎14-05-2011
Message 2 of 10 (5,302 Views)

Re: Enable WEP?

To be honest, regardless of encryption, the PS3 has such a weak connection with the Hub- for whatever reason - that it will consistently disconnect. If possible at all, could you not connect your PS3 directly to the Super Hub via ethernet, this allows for a better experience with less lag.

0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎27-07-2012
Message 3 of 10 (5,291 Views)

Re: Enable WEP?

No chance of using a wire, that's why I went wireless. the ps3 and the virgin hub are on different floors.

 

((((generic compaint about a "super" hub not working with a playsation, shows basically no testing etc tec))))

 

 

Is there anyway I can maybe plug my older wi-fi router into the superhub? it worked much better.

0 Kudos
Up to speed
  • 121
  • 3
  • 12
Registered: ‎27-11-2010
Message 4 of 10 (5,276 Views)

Re: Enable WEP?

Switch the Superhub to "modem" mode and then you can connect your old router to the first LAN port on the Superhub.  In case you have anything else plugged into your Superhub, note that all of the other ports on the Superhub will be disabled.

0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 257
  • 5
  • 27
Registered: ‎14-05-2011
Message 5 of 10 (5,269 Views)

Re: Enable WEP?

[ Edited ]

scottishsmile wrote:

No chance of using a wire, that's why I went wireless. the ps3 and the virgin hub are on different floors.

 

((((generic compaint about a "super" hub not working with a playsation, shows basically no testing etc tec))))

 

 

Is there anyway I can maybe plug my older wi-fi router into the superhub? it worked much better.



Indeed, there is. Connect a ethernet cable from the first port (nearest to the coaxial connector) to the router. Login in to the Super Hub's interface (http:192.168.0.1/) and select "Super Hub Settings" from the main menu. At the bottom of the page, select "Enable Modem Mode", choose yes: the hub will reboot - you're ready to go!

Note as well that, if you need to access the interface while under modem mode remember to use the address: http://192.168.100.1/

(The bottom LED on the side of the hub should not be lit and the logo on the front will appear purple - instead of the usual blue - to show it's in modem mode.)

I have to say I've tried the same with an older "G" router and results wireleslly were excellent- far superior compared to the substandard "Super" Hub when using in conjunction with the PS3. Anyway, hope I've helped.

0 Kudos
Forum Team (Retired)
  • 1.81K
  • 16
  • 76
Registered: ‎21-03-2012
Message 6 of 10 (5,211 Views)

Re: Enable WEP?

Hello scottishsmile,

 

Have you been able to connect your wireless router?

 

Also, to use WEP, you have to change the wireless radio settings down to 54Mbps as WEP is only supported on wireless g.


Peter L
Help & Support Forum Team


0 Kudos
Rising star
  • 788
  • 29
  • 85
Registered: ‎13-07-2012
Message 7 of 10 (5,195 Views)

Re: Enable WEP?

For the love of GOD dont use WEP (WPA AES ONLY) wep is about as strong a using paper for doors.

 

Additionally also turn of WPS this is week and can be exploited.

 

If your having issues with signal to the PSU you could use another router with the superhub in modem mode.

 

However wireless rather sux for gaming and you would be better investing in a couple of cheap powerline (homeplug adapters).

 

Cheapest your going to probably find around are tp-link home plug av (200mbps) ones, either ebay or ebuyer will do you a twin (starter pack) cheap.

 

This will give you far better latancy for gaming and wont lag like hell everytime a microwave oven gets used close by.

0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎11-03-2014
Message 8 of 10 (1,301 Views)

Re: Enable WEP?

[ Edited ]

No need for any of that. Buy an RT2000 repeater which will connect wirelessly without issue to your superhub. Park the repeater next to your device and ethernet straight to it. Tried and tested with PS3 - super reliable for Netflix in HD, gaming, iPlayer etc.

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 6.32K
  • 433
  • 1.18K
Registered: ‎17-10-2010
Message 9 of 10 (1,290 Views)

Re: Enable WEP?

The effectiveness of any wireless repeater\ extender\ bridge, will depend on you wireless environment. The poweline adapters will usually provide the more robust solution negating the affects of any wireless interference.

 

Wireless repeaters also half your wireless speeds due to the half duplex nature of wireless.

0 Kudos
Rising star
  • 788
  • 29
  • 85
Registered: ‎13-07-2012
Message 10 of 10 (1,277 Views)

Re: Enable WEP?

[ Edited ]

+1 for the powerline adaptors, but if you want a cheap wireless access client/adaptor (instead of spending £30+) a dd-wrt enabled router will act as a wireless back to cat5 (client) cheap, you can pick up d2/d4 and E series dir 615's on ebay for less than £10 normally, flash it with dd-wrt and your away.

 

They can also be turned into cheap repeaters, although if your right next to the device in question a clients a better idea.

 

However if your using it for gaming, go with the powerline adapters, the latency is much better (lower ping).

0 Kudos