Menu
Reply
Superfast
  • 374
  • 5
  • 27
Registered: ‎19-07-2010
Message 1 of 14 (2,884 Views)

Confirmed: Server Router Issues

Have just rung Virgin. Luckily got through to someone English who appologised and explained that theres a router issue with their servers. Changing to the webcache.virginmedia.com:8080 should work for everyone on Internet Explorer but select users on Firefox and Chrome. It is being fixed as a type and they estimate it to take 24 hours.


All Replies
Joining in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎07-05-2011
Message 2 of 14 (2,757 Views)

Re: Confirmed: Server Router Issues

[ Edited ]

Same here. I got a lady knew exactly what she was talking about.

 

I can now access the internet. But games are down such as Rift or Champions online. Still not a strong enough connection for them.

 

Thing is as I changed my Lan settings to webcache.virginmedia.com  port 8080 what were the defaults I forgot to write them down LOL

0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎02-06-2011
Message 3 of 14 (2,685 Views)

Re: Confirmed: Server Router Issues

Same as PhilAG for me, i can get onto browser stuff but cant get onto any applications that are using secure login

 

(Rift, World of Warcraft, etc)

0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 47
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎30-05-2010
Message 4 of 14 (2,150 Views)

Re: Confirmed: Server Router Issues

[ Edited ]

how do i Chang to the webcache.virginmedia.com:8080? for internet explorer 9

 

i have done it on firefox all is good

 

just need to do it to internet explorer 9 now can anyone help me out?

 

thanks

karl.

0 Kudos
Hero
  • 6.5K
  • 452
  • 1.04K
Registered: ‎28-01-2010
Message 5 of 14 (2,003 Views)

Re: Confirmed: Server Router Issues

Start by clicking the Cog icon, then Internert Options, etc

 

 

 

_____________________________________________________________________
if you just want to say thanks > click 'kudos' +☆ Smiley Happy
if this has also helped answer your question > click 'helpful answer' also
0 Kudos
Up to speed
  • 131
  • 1
  • 30
Registered: ‎28-02-2010
Message 6 of 14 (1,989 Views)

Re: Confirmed: Server Router Issues

What's the significance of "Bypass proxy server for local addresses"? What's the difference between that being checked or unchecked?

0 Kudos
Hero
  • 6.5K
  • 452
  • 1.04K
Registered: ‎28-01-2010
Message 7 of 14 (1,982 Views)

Re: Confirmed: Server Router Issues

local addresses are on your own network (i.e. LAN side of the router)

_____________________________________________________________________
if you just want to say thanks > click 'kudos' +☆ Smiley Happy
if this has also helped answer your question > click 'helpful answer' also
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎03-06-2011
Message 8 of 14 (1,946 Views)

Re: Confirmed: Server Router Issues

I have not had nay problems with websites loading but I am having issues with downloading patches for the games I play. WoW and Heroes of Newerth patches won't even start to download and end up crashing everytime I try to patch. I thought they might need re-installing but when I tried to redownload HoN I can't even run the .exe from the HoN website to start the install. Is this part of the probem being experienced by other people?

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 12.84K
  • 394
  • 1.6K
Registered: ‎20-06-2010
Message 9 of 14 (1,718 Views)

Re: Confirmed: Server Router Issues

0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 141
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Message 10 of 14 (1,507 Views)

Re: Confirmed: Server Router Issues

well this proxy does allow me to use websites but under proxy my speeds are so much slower. on a 50mb connection using proxy im getting 10mbps max to speedtest and a low of 2mb. I cannot log into my FTP it just keeps timing out. (Not virgin media FTP) I cant access speedtest.net, pingtest.net and also hosting-needs.com which is american best webhosting site.

I dont know of any other websites i have problems with. Under proxy i can access them all but just cant log into my FTP. Plz hurry and fix this i have had this problem for like 3 4 weeks now.
Virgin Media and its technical glitches never seem to end.
0 Kudos