Menu
Reply
On our wavelength
  • 39
  • 3
  • 1
Registered: ‎20-11-2010
Message 1 of 12 (468 Views)

Adding a USB device via Superhub?

I am on 100mb, so have superhub V2. I want to add a usb device (a Seneye from my aquarium) to the hub, via a usb to ethernet adapter. Are the ethernet ports on the hub powered?

Thanks

Daz

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.3K
  • 424
  • 2.24K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 4 of 12 (444 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Daz6820

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

Hi

 

As far as I am aware the ethernet ports on the SH2 are only equipped to deal with standard connections and do not support POE connections.

 

Also note that the Onboard USB is currently unpowered.

 

Ravenstar68

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

On our wavelength
  • 39
  • 3
  • 1
Registered: ‎20-11-2010
Message 12 of 12 (121 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Daz6820

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

My final answer was to add a Belkin network USB hub to the Virgin modem/router... I can now add a lot of USB devices to the network... It would be nice if Virgin added this facility to their modems though.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

0 Kudos

All Replies
Forum Team
  • 11.57K
  • 380
  • 673
Registered: ‎14-05-2013
Message 2 of 12 (452 Views)

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

Hi Daz6820, 

 

If your Superhub 2 is in normal router mode then yes, all 4 ports are on and functional. If you have it in Modem mode then the only port working will be the one labelled.

 

thanks, 

Kath_F
Forum Team

Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know



0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 39
  • 3
  • 1
Registered: ‎20-11-2010
Message 3 of 12 (449 Views)

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

Cheers, so the live Ethernet ports on the Superhub 2 WILL provide power to an Ethernet-to-usb adapter, to power a USB device connected to it?
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.3K
  • 424
  • 2.24K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 4 of 12 (445 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Daz6820

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

Hi

 

As far as I am aware the ethernet ports on the SH2 are only equipped to deal with standard connections and do not support POE connections.

 

Also note that the Onboard USB is currently unpowered.

 

Ravenstar68

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

On our wavelength
  • 39
  • 3
  • 1
Registered: ‎20-11-2010
Message 5 of 12 (426 Views)

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

[ Edited ]

So the "Super Hub 2" isn't to super, as it is unable to add any USB devices to the network.

Many thanks for the info.

Daz

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.3K
  • 424
  • 2.24K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 6 of 12 (419 Views)

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

The USB is there for future expansion.  currently VM are sorting the base firmware out before adding any new features Smiley Happy

 

Compared to the Superhub 1 the SH2 is miles better for Wireless IMHO however give me modem mode and a decent standalone router anyday. Smiley Tongue

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 39
  • 3
  • 1
Registered: ‎20-11-2010
Message 7 of 12 (407 Views)

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

[ Edited ]

The hub has no usb slot. I was going to use an Ethernet to usb adapter to add a USB Seneye fishtank monitor to the network, but it will need to pull the power from the Ethernet port on the hub, via the adapter. I cannot think of any other way of doing it without forking out on another router.

 

I also have a Samknows box on it, and it has a usb slot, but it is not active, and there is no way to enter the box's settings to alter it.

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.3K
  • 424
  • 2.24K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 8 of 12 (387 Views)

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

[ Edited ]

So you have a Power over ethernet injector somewhere in your setup right?

 

Actually I think you are missing the point of an Ethernet to USB connector.  It allows you to convert a USB port on a PC into an Ethernet port - but it would draw any power it needs from the USB port on the PC not the Ethernet port.

 

Ravenstar68

 

Edit and if you have the Superhub 2 then it most definitely does have a USB slot - it's just covered with black tape as it is currently inactive.

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 39
  • 3
  • 1
Registered: ‎20-11-2010
Message 9 of 12 (374 Views)

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

I was looking at male Ethernet to female usb adapter.
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.3K
  • 424
  • 2.24K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 10 of 12 (367 Views)

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

[ Edited ]

Like this one?

 

http://dynamic.focalprice.com/CA430B/USB_A_Female_to_Ethernet_RJ45_Male_Router_Adapter_Black.html?Cu...

 

That would not transfer power from the ethernet side to the USB side. rather it would draw power from a powered USB port using a standard male to male USB cable.

 

Ravenstar68

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

0 Kudos