Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Fresh as a Daisy
wigvet

help - cant send e-mails using old tesco.net address

I have been a virginmedia customer for over six months now and have no trouble contuing to use my old e-mail tesco address ending @tesco.net

suddenly whilst i can still receive e-mail I am getting the following error when i attempt to send:

account 'pop.tesco.net, Server 'smpt.tesco.net', Protocol SMTP, Server Response: '554 Authentication Failed, must login', Port:25. Secure(SSL): No, Server Error:554, Error Number: 0X800CCC79

have rang

i) tesco - they said I need SMTP details from Virgin

ii) virginmedia - they said we can't help pu your problem on google!

so here goes - can anyone PLEASE help

thank you

Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
Tbgbe

Re: help - cant send e-mails using old tesco.net address

Sounds like you previously had Internet from Tesco and so used their email.
As you have cancelled Tesco, they have disabled your email.

You now use Virgin, so you have Virginmedia email.

You should have been assigned (or you picked) a Virginmedia.com email address and so you can now use that.

Alternatively, create an independent email account e.g. Google / Hotmail / FastMail etc.

Whichever you do, remember to let your contacts know the new address.

See http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Email/Email-security-changes-for-sending-mail-via-SMTP/td-p/5659... if you want to configure for Virgin.

TVXL(V+), BB10Mb, Ph(M)
Please use plain text.
Omniscient
slated

[ Edited ]

wigvet wrote:

I have been a virginmedia customer for over six months now and have no trouble contuing to use my old e-mail tesco address ending @tesco.net

suddenly whilst i can still receive e-mail I am getting the following error when i attempt to send:

account 'pop.tesco.net, Server 'smpt.tesco.net', Protocol SMTP, Server Response: '554 Authentication Failed, must login', Port:25. Secure(SSL): No, Server Error:554, Error Number: 0X800CCC79