Menu
JoSum
Joining in
Message 1 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Old ntl email address

Hope someone can help me. I have an old ntlworld email address that I would like to keep going. However, it is on the virgin media account associated with my previous matrimonial home. I am now in a new home with a new virginmedia account and I would like to 'import' that email address to my new account.

I have been using the email address without a problem for the last 2 1/2 years (presumably because the original vm account is still running) but in the last 2 days it has stopped working and says 'cannot verify account name or password'. I cannot access emails on the vm webmail as I don't have that email address associated with my own vm account!!

Hope that makes sense and hope someone has some answers!!

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Re: Old ntl email address

Yes I do.

You will have to phone this one in and do it quickly. Any transfer of address like this will wipe your existing account clean. 150, 0345 454 1111 - Broadband faults.

Judging by the error message the person remaining in the matrimonial home has closed the VM account. That means you only have a short window of opportunity to see if it is possible to do the transfer - and I warn you it may not be possible for various reasons. You will need the "old" account number if yu have it -if not the old address should help.

You can wait here for a Forum Team member to pick this up - but they have a backlog of up to 2 weeks. I'd phone in, if I were you.

-----------------------

Superuser 2017/18
Use Kudos to say thanks
Mark answer as "helpful" only when the problem is solved
Please don't send me private messages unless I ask you to.
I do not work for VM. The advice I give is based on my best understanding of VM policy and practice. You rely on it at your own risk.
0 Kudos
JoSum
Joining in
Message 3 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Thank you
0 Kudos
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 4 of 4