Menu
Polly12-
Joining in
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

I am not a robot

No idea if I am in the right place as a new user.

Despite several telephone conversations and assurances from customer service that the problem with identity having to be verified by clicking pictures, when they changed over from Google, would be resolved quickly. 8 out of ten times I use my email addresses I have to go through the routine of clicking pics. Even when the info is correct it often has to be repeated. This is driving me to distraction.

I get spam galore. When going down the list of new emails some of them either jump to the bin or disappear somewhere miles down my list among the mail already opened days before.  I am not technically minded but even I know that can't be right. Is it me or is it Virgins fault?

0 Kudos

Helpful Answers
Superuser
Superuser
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: I am not a robot

Kippies has given you some robust advice. I'll present another side to the issues which you might want to consider.

CAPTCHA - it is a genuine attempt by VM to increase e-mail security and also sign on to their other services like e-billing which all use the same sign on details. Unfortunately it's a bit of a disaster. There are ways round. First of all use an e-mail client to send and collect your mail.  If you want to continue with web mail; secondly clear your browser cache and history regularly. Thirdly (and this is what I did) change your browser - I switched to Chrome and the whole thing is far less troublesome.

SPAM - a true nightmare. The spam filters are crazy and inconsistent. Change your SPAM settings in web mail to "spam to spam folder" . It won't stop the deluge but it might make it easier to sort. 

-----------------------

Superuser 2017/18
Use Kudos to say thanks
Mark answer as "helpful" only when the problem is solved
Please don't send me private messages unless I ask you to.