Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Fresh as a Daisy
babyseals

Email - blueyonder account - problem with sending e-mails (Thunderbird client)

Hi,

Was wondering if anybody could possibly help me with the following :

I use Thunderbird as my e-mail client and have a blueyonder.co.uk. I receive my e-mails fine but have never been able to send any. I *think* my settings are right as per the guide for blueyonder e-mails, but every time I try to send I get the status message as "Connected to smtp.blueyonder.co.u.uk" and the progress bar looking as though it is processing...and then the following "Sending of message failed.
The message could not be sent because the connection to SMTP server smtp.blueyonder.co.uk timed out. Try again or contact your network administrator.".

Any help would be very much appreciated!

Many thanks

Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
Benjamin_T

Re: Email - blueyonder account - problem with sending e-mails (Thunderbird client)

Hi babyseals,

There are known issues on the blueyonder.co.uk server at the moment. This has been ongoing for a few weeks and our I.T. department is working on a fix.

In the meantime you will need to change to the virginmedia.com server settings: 

Email address ending with @virginmedia.com:

Protocol: POP3

Incoming Mail Server = pop3.virginmedia.com

Outgoing Mail Server = smtp.virginmedia.com

Both virgin.net & virginmedia.com

My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication: enabled 
Use same settings as my incoming mail server: enabled

Advanced tab

Incoming server (POP3): 995 
This server requires a secure connection (SSL) enabled 
Outgoing server (SMTP): 465
This server requires a secure connection (SSL) enabled

I work for Virgin Media but my opinions are my Own
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
vidanova

Re: Email - blueyonder account - problem with sending e-mails (Thunderbird client)

Hi