Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
One to Watch
xuxsatu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2012
Helpful Answer

NTP time server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21).

Hi all,

 

I am currently using Broadband XXL (Up To 100mb) since February 2012.  Before that I was using BT Broadband, while with BT Broadband I was able to use the NTP server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21) but since switching to Virgin Media I have been unable to do so.

 

I need to use the NTP server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21) (please note I seem to be able to ping the server also use traceroute the NTP server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch put not able to use it to synchronise my computer(s)).  Please can you advise on how I can get this unblocked or away I can start using  / synchronise the NTP server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch.  Also is this something to do with the port that the NTP use’s.

 

Thank you in advance.

 

Regards

 

Matthew Lake

Regards

Matthew Lake
Please use plain text.
Superuser
Swt4ajp
Posts: 11,592
Registered: ‎20-06-2010

Re: NTP time server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21).

hi

 

how are you setting this up? on pc ?

 

what operating system?

 

 

 


_______________________________________________________
Swt4ajp
Virgin Media Superuser

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
xuxsatu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2012

Re: NTP time server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21).

Hi,

 

Windows 7 64bi.

Windows XP pro.

Solaris 8 and 9.

SUSE Linux 9.3 pro

With window I Click on the clock and click on the Internet Time and enter swisstime.ee.ethz.ch.

on Solaris and SUSE Linux I use webmin to sync with swisstime.ee.ethz.ch.

 

Thanks

 

Matthew Lake

Regards

Matthew Lake
Please use plain text.
Superuser
ravenstar68
Posts: 6,070
Registered: ‎01-11-2009

Re: NTP time server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21).

Hi xuxatu

 

I have just tried configuring Windows 7 to run the above server and has worked fine this end.

re Pings it could be that the server is confirgured not to respond to them when I run a tracert I can see the route arriving in switzerland after which pings start timing out on all hops after the ethz.ch

 

Tracing route to swisstime.ee.ethz.ch [129.132.2.21]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 16 ms 12 ms 8 ms cpc23-sutt4-2-0-gw.19-1.cable.virginmedia.com [213.48.156.1]
3 6 ms 7 ms 7 ms perr-core-2b-xe-1131-703.network.virginmedia.net  [80.1.68.162]
4 7 ms 7 ms 9 ms brhm-bb-1b-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net             [62.255.149.69]
5 10 ms 11 ms 11 ms nrth-bb-1a-as4-0.network.virginmedia.net         [62.253.185.105]
6 16 ms 13 ms 11 ms nrth-bb-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net         [62.253.185.118]
7 17 ms 46 ms 12 ms tele-ic-4-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net            [62.253.174.18]
8 16 ms 18 ms 67 ms ldn-b4-link.telia.net                                        [213.248.70.29]
9 16 ms 15 ms 18 ms ldn-bb2-link.telia.net                                      [80.91.246.146]
10 28 ms 31 ms 25 ms prs-bb2-link.telia.net                                    [80.91.247.240]
11 30 ms 39 ms 31 ms zch-b1-link.telia.net                                     [213.155.131.47]
12 56 ms 52 ms 50 ms dante-01287-zch-b1.c.telia.net                      [213.248.79.190]

13 318 ms 46 ms 60 ms swiIX2-10GE-1-4.switch.ch                         [130.59.36.42]
14 35 ms 32 ms 44 ms swiEZ2-10GE-1-3.switch.ch                         [130.59.36.249]
15 35 ms 36 ms 35 ms rou-gw-rz-tengig-to-switch.ethz.ch                [192.33.92.1]

16 34 ms 51 ms 35 ms rou-fw-rz-rz-gw.ethz.ch                                [192.33.92.169]
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

 

 

 

After the traceroute I set up the time server in Windows 7 Internet time and although initially when I clicked ok it reported an error I went back in and clicked update now and it synchronized successfully.

 

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
xuxsatu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2012

Re: NTP time server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21).

Hi ravenstar68,

 

Thanks for that I will give that a go later today.

 

:smileyhappy:

 

Regards

 

xux16

Regards

Matthew Lake
Please use plain text.
Wizard
FlashPan
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎18-08-2009

Re: NTP time server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21).

Hi,

 

As an option goto here:  http://www.pool.ntp.org/zone/europe

 

Here you could use ch.pool.ntp.org as your ntp address as then this "pool" contains numerous Swiss ntp servers so if 1 or more ever goes down you'll still connect to a valid time sevrer for that region.


Cheers

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
xuxsatu
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-08-2012

Re: NTP time server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21).

Hi FlashPan,

 

Thank that worth knowing.

Regards

Matthew Lake
Please use plain text.
Wizard
francisandrosie
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎18-02-2012

Re: NTP time server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21).

also you can use virgin media's

 

ntp.virginmedia.com - i have used this on my cisco voip phone and routers but if any devices are not on the virgin medias network it wont work.

Up To 100Mb Ex-NTL 21 Area
Telepone M
Please use plain text.
Wizard
francisandrosie
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎18-02-2012

Re: NTP time server swisstime.ee.ethz.ch (129.132.2.21).

[ Edited ]

also you can use virgin media's

 

ntp.virginmedia.com - i have used this on my cisco voip phone and routers but if any devices are not on the virgin medias network it wont work.

Up To 100Mb Ex-NTL 21 Area
Telepone M
Please use plain text.