Menu
Reply
  • 59
  • 0
  • 1
Johnny1983
Dialled in
163 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Ftth

Hey virgin
Does your fibre go straight to your customers homes in radcliffe manchester. M26 3AW postcode. I just woundered if your fibre runs straight to my home or to the street cabinet still?
0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 1.69K
  • 63
  • 268
shanematthews
Knows their stuff
296 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Ftth


Johnny1983 wrote:
Hey virgin
Does your fibre go straight to your customers homes in radcliffe manchester. M26 3AW postcode. I just woundered if your fibre runs straight to my home or to the street cabinet still?

Depends, is it a new build or is it a really old part of the network, FTTH is only done on new additions to the network, you won't actually see any difference in speed anyway so it doens't really matter if its FTTC or FTTH

  • 1.69K
  • 63
  • 268
shanematthews
Knows their stuff
278 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Ftth


Johnny1983 wrote:
I live an old build terrised house.
So im guessing it goes to cabinet. Then to my home?

Thats how FTTC works, the fibre goes to a green street cabinet and is then converted to a signal which can be sent via the coax cable down to your property, in FTTH the fibre terminates at a box on your property before being converted to coax and entering your home

  • 1.69K
  • 63
  • 268
shanematthews
Knows their stuff
259 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Ftth


Johnny1983 wrote:
Im not sure. Correct me if you are able to.
The boxes in my area are grey. They date back from nynex and ntl. Am i right? Or have you recently updated the cabinets to green? Im asking. As we still have the grey boxes scattered around.

I haven't updated anything, i don't work for VM, if they are really old boxes thats possible, i know the currently installed cabinets are green, to be fair the colour doesn't really matter too much as its the internal guts which do the work, if you're in an area dating back to NTL then you definitely have FTTC and not FFTH


All Replies
  • 1.69K
  • 63
  • 268
shanematthews
Knows their stuff
297 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Ftth


Johnny1983 wrote:
Hey virgin
Does your fibre go straight to your customers homes in radcliffe manchester. M26 3AW postcode. I just woundered if your fibre runs straight to my home or to the street cabinet still?

Depends, is it a new build or is it a really old part of the network, FTTH is only done on new additions to the network, you won't actually see any difference in speed anyway so it doens't really matter if its FTTC or FTTH

  • 59
  • 0
  • 1
Johnny1983
Dialled in
143 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ftth

I live an old build terrised house.
So im guessing it goes to cabinet. Then to my home?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.69K
  • 63
  • 268
shanematthews
Knows their stuff
279 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Ftth


Johnny1983 wrote:
I live an old build terrised house.
So im guessing it goes to cabinet. Then to my home?

Thats how FTTC works, the fibre goes to a green street cabinet and is then converted to a signal which can be sent via the coax cable down to your property, in FTTH the fibre terminates at a box on your property before being converted to coax and entering your home

  • 59
  • 0
  • 1
Johnny1983
Dialled in
136 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ftth

Im not sure. Correct me if you are able to.
The boxes in my area are grey. They date back from nynex and ntl. Am i right? Or have you recently updated the cabinets to green? Im asking. As we still have the grey boxes scattered around.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.69K
  • 63
  • 268
shanematthews
Knows their stuff
260 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Ftth


Johnny1983 wrote:
Im not sure. Correct me if you are able to.
The boxes in my area are grey. They date back from nynex and ntl. Am i right? Or have you recently updated the cabinets to green? Im asking. As we still have the grey boxes scattered around.

I haven't updated anything, i don't work for VM, if they are really old boxes thats possible, i know the currently installed cabinets are green, to be fair the colour doesn't really matter too much as its the internal guts which do the work, if you're in an area dating back to NTL then you definitely have FTTC and not FFTH