Menu
djequinoxb
Tuning in
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Cable my street myself

I am a virgin media installations technician at Mcnicholas construction at the Cotswolds depot... My home address is a new housing estate and has never VM cables laid. Thing is, its frustrating as I know that around 100 houses are using BT or sky out of no choice of their own. Its frustrating driving home in a VM van every day and tenants/home owners constantly asking me when VM is laying cables. I'm pretty sure there is no cabinet in the vicinity but behind our estate is another housing estate with full fibre VM. I live in a house that is literally 30 feet away from the VM estate with only a 6ft fence seperaring the 2.... I'm seriously considering laying my own consulate and feeding my own cable to the nearest pit behind my house and cabling my house.....

Is this allowed?
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Cable my street myself

i highly doubt it
0 Kudos
djequinoxb
Tuning in
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Why not? I know what I'm doing lol
0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

you wouldn't be authorised. you wouldn't be insured, and you wouldn't be working for VM when you did it.
0 Kudos
djequinoxb
Tuning in
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

That's fair enough I guess, I would never do anything that I'm not allowed to, its just frustrating being a tech but not a customer... As an employee/contractor I'm entitled to the complete package for only £15pm and I'm stuck with only 150kbps with BT bb..... Its just really frustrating knowing I can sign up 100+ houses if they just lay the cables Smiley Sad
0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator